top of page

Chissick Chat, part two, with Chris Botragyi


Welcome to the Chissick Chat Blog, part two and my chat with Chris Botragyi, fellow Brit and author of Blurred Vision, an alien invasion horror with some sci-fi elements.


Hi, Chris, Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Hi, I'm Chris and I'm 42. I'm originally from Frinton-on-Sea, Essex, but now reside in Westcliff-on-Sea. Blurred Vision is my first published novel, and is an alien invasion horror thriller with some sci-fi elements - and many unique twists! I am also a multi-published poet. Currently, I am a volunteer LSA and studying an English literature/language (BA) degree.


What, or who, inspires you?

Everyday life inspires me - I find it fascinating. Sadly, the world is a brutal and harsh place, but offers a plethora of material and ideas with which to expand.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

Absolutely. I love the science fiction genre; there is a wealth of films/books out there - literally! It's that 'tapping' of the human psyche that plays on our fears and disbelief.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

In my mind, yes! I've been through (and with) my characters in their predicaments and travels throughout the story.


What are you working on at the moment?

I'm not currently writing any new material at the moment. My degree is quite time consuming, so my attention is primarily focused on that. But the occasional poem or idea sometimes springs to mind.


What are your future writing plans?

Again, my degree takes precedent, but I'd never say never. I have a few unfinished projects that perhaps may see the light of day in future.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

The editing process! That's a very painstakingly laborious task. I edited BV around 12 times before an editor got through it. Then it was another several times working through the professional edits. But it's all worth it in the long run. It's in the best interests of the reader to offer them the best you can deliver - after all they're the ones paying for your story.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Tea - you can't beat a good cuppa.

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Got to be sweet I'm afraid. I'm partial to any chocolate!

Real book or ebook? Real! You can't beat the feel of real paper in your hands. It's the process from an idea into book form that I love. It resonates with centuries old customs and romanticism.

Cinema or DVD? Both. Either offers me alternative escape from the daily struggles of real life.

Cat or dog? I'm a dog person, but my girlfriend has six cats!

Weepie or action movie? Again, either, depending on the style, subject and cast.


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Everything that's bad for me!

Drink? Lager/beer. Can't beat BBQ beer.

Movie? Too many to choose from. I'm a big science fiction/thriller fan, but watch most things really.

Book? Has to be Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey.

Colour? Purple/plum

Saying/Proverb? Whatever doesn't kill you simply makes you stranger. The Joker.

Song? Freebird by Lynyrd Skynyrd

Pudding/dessert? Toffee cheesecake!


Thanks for taking part, Chris and good luck with your degree.




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page