top of page

Chissick Chat, part eight, with D.M. Miller

Welcome to the Chissick Chat Blog, part eight, with fellow author and good friend, D.M. Miller, an American author who manages to weave religion into her stories in such a way that you can't help but be pulled into the tale rather than be pushed away. Religion is not an easy subject to tackle in fiction writing, but tackle it she does, and she does it well.


Hi, and welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Hi, Elaine. Thank you for having me. Well, what can I say? I'm D.M. Miller, an American author focusing on religion, politics, ethnicity, culture, family, ancestry, identity but most of all, love. Most of my books thus far have centered on interfaith love and all the difficulties involved in such a relationship.


What, or who, inspires you?

People who aren't afraid to rock the boat to speak out for what's right, especially in this world where the masses are brainwashed by a biased media. When it comes to writing, I'm inspired by authors who bring the reader into the story on an emotional level. Fluff is boring. I want truth, and truth brings out every emotion imaginable.

Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

Yes, I do, but that doesn't mean I love every book in the genre. What I write is not quite like anything else I've read, but I do read as much romance as possible. What I run into is the standard formula and a lack of emotion. Frankly, I've found more emotion in books that are not romance, and there is something wrong with that picture. With my books, you will feel something. It might be anger, sadness, happiness, or love, or all of the above.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

Absolutely, and that is something I touch on in my latest book. My research for didn't end up where I had expected when I started the journey, and I learned some disturbing things along the way.

What are you working on at the moment?

My work-in-progress is the fourth installment of the “Heart” series, but my newest book is . It's my personal story as well as a candid look at Judaism's rules for who is and isn't classified as a Jew and why, which I challenge in the book. When you're a Half-Jew, how do you define your identity? Are you a Jew or a Gentile? I really think a lot of people will be able to relate to this book, while others will probably get their feathers ruffled.

What are your future writing plans?

The new "Heart" series book should be ready in the Fall. That’s the plan anyway! I’m also considering publishing a new poetry book, but that one is not yet set in stone. Afterwards, more “Heart” books, and I’d like to try to venture into something more mainstream at the same time if at all possible. I’m not really a mainstream kind of girl, so we’ll see if I’m even capable of taking a more commercial approach for once!


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

Marketing. Like most authors, I just want to write. The business part of writing is for the birds.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Coffee.

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Depends on my mood, but normally, sweet.

Real book or ebook? A case can be made for both, but if I have to choose, I'll say real.

Cinema or DVD? DVD because I'm a homebody, but the cinema is nice too.

Cat or dog? Dog. I know most female authors are cat-lovers, but I've always been a dog person.

Weepie or action movie? Weepie.


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Probably pizza. Or mac 'n' cheese.

Drink? Coffee, or maybe Coke or Pepsi, though I rarely drink those unless I have a headache.

Movie? The English Patient.

Book? It's a toss-up between The Settler by Orit Arfa and Palomino Sky by Jan Ruth.

Colour? Charcoal grey. It’s softer than black but also powerful and goes with everything, whether we’re talking about clothing, home decor or even vehicles.

Saying/Proverb? G-d helps those who help themselves.

Song? At the moment I'm obsessed with John Legend, especially "What You Do to Me." Though I don't normally listen to that type of music, I'm hooked! His voice sounds better on some of the other tracks on the same album, but that particular song wins for the lyrics.

Pudding/Dessert? The Olive Garden has this Black Tie Chocolate Mousse Cheese Cake that is to die for.


Thanks for taking part, D.M, and good luck with the next book in the Heart series.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page