top of page

Chissick Chat - part thirty - with Sharena Satti

Following on from her recent appearance on the Writer's Bookshelf with David Driver at Drystone Radio, I'm honoured to welcome to the Chissick Chat Blog, the one and only, absolutely wonderful, Sharena Satti.

Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Thank you for inviting me to chat with you today.

My name is Sharena Lee Satti a poet from Bradford West Yorkshire and I’m a full time parent and I also help out locally, volunteering when I can.

I 1st started to write when I was very young, over 25years now. I started to write poetry as a child to escape my dysfunctional childhood. It gave me a voice, it allowed to me to express my emotions without bottling them up. Over the years. I have been very lucky to have several of my poems published by forward press and one of my biggest achievements was when I published my 1st book Testing times in January 2017. This book contains a variety of poems covering different topics all really relevant to today’s society. Each poem is written from the heart and each word shared is piece of me. My poetry is honest and real, simple yet significant and very easy to connect too.


What, or who, inspires you?

Life inspires me, and I inspire me. Life is filled with many emotions but you have to take the positives from all the negatives and live and learn and keep going. We are surrounded with such beauty, that most people are blind to see, living in there busy lives, Yorkshire is filled with such fields of green, and nature unseen. I am really connected with nature. I think it draws out positive energy. I say I inspire me and that’s because I am quite a shy introvert and I have to face my fears head on... I don’t let them stop me anymore from reaching my dreams. I never give up, I keep striving forth, My beautiful girls say I am there role model and inspiration... I will never be able to achieve anything more beautiful than there words.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

I enjoy reading true life stories , or Sci fi and fantasy, poetry too and once I get started I can’t put the book down till its complete, but in recent times I’ve not really had the time as such to read as much as I’d like.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

No not really, I can’t recall any unusual place but I do enjoy a visit to the sea when writing or even just walk in the park because it’s so refreshing


What are you working on at the moment?

I am currently working on my 2nd book called Phoenix the Reborn, it’s a story in poetry format about myself. I believe we all have a story to tell and mine is a story about my childhood and my own encounters of been a mix raced child surrounded by mental health and drug and alcohol abuse .It’s a poetic story of hope and how I became inspired to write poetry. It will be available to order in December


What are your future writing plans?

May be a sequel to Phoenix the reborn? If I decide to write it in two parts. Or a children poetry book, I’d like to be able to share my poetry with all ages


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

Hmmm well It took me so long to realise I am a poet, and then I completed my book and I was now an author, Yet somehow I still feel I don’t truly deserve that title because I’m just a poet who put a collection of her poems together. I also find the book signings a little daunting as much as it is exciting because I’m quite shy and reserved and I have zero selling skills, but I suppose it all comes with time and experience.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Coffee but do need a morning cup of tea

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Sweet I can’t refuse chocolate but I’m obsessed with pistachios

Real book or ebook? A real book, I like to turn the pages in my hand and feel the story as I’m holding the book

Cinema or DVD? DVD so much better watching from the comfort of your own home

Cat or dog? I love all animals but if I had to choose I would choose a cat over a dog because I have a cat, He is a part of the family and we are getting a new kitty soon called biscuit.

Weepie or action movie? I’d choose Sci fi/fantasy over any film choice, I get lost in them, that’s when I have the time to watch films haha,, so between the two I’d choose sci-fi.


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Lentil curry my favourite it’s so yummy, I’m more of a veggie eater

Drink? I don’t really have much of a drink preference, I just dislike fizzy pop

Movie? Ghost I love this film, and The Crow.

Book? Desert flower by Waries Dirie such a heart wrenching true story

Colour? My favourite colour is yellow, although I never wear this colour it is my favourite because it’s bright and beautiful and positive

Saying/Proverb? Knowledge is power... always seek the truth

Song? I love music and have a huge list of favourites, one I loved growing up and is still a classic is Bob Marley Don’t worry

Pudding/dessert? My favourite desert, gosh I have too many, One I adore is an old school fave Cornflake tart and custard yummy


Thanks for chatting with me today, Sharena. The Crow is on my 'to watch' list. Wishing you luck with your next book!



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page