top of page

Chissick Chat, part thirty-two, with JF Holland

Welcome to the Chissick Chat Blog!

Hi, and welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Hi, I’m Julie, I’m a mother of 6, and I write Heated Contemporary and Paranormal Romance under my maiden name JF Holland. I try to write relatable characters and situations in my Contemporary Romance that cover various problems that people encounter in their search for their Happy Ever After. I try to do the same with my Paranormal, even though it’s a little more out there. I try to do it all with a little humour and snark, with the odd bit of alpha thrown in.


What, or who, inspires you?

Everyday life inspires me, the lengths that people go to in the name of love.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

I do, I read both contemporary and paranormal romance and have done since I got interested in Romance Books at age 13.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

I can’t say it has in person, but in research, I’ve learned many things while working on my books.


What are you working on at the moment?

I’m working on several things at present, the 4th Dennison Book (a contemporary book) Len Simpson finally gets his story. I’m also working on Magic in The Moon, the 5th book in my Paranormal (shifter romance series) as well as 2 shorts for charity anthologies. One is a military romance for Help For Heroes and the other is YA for Ronald McDonald House.


What are your future writing plans?

Next year I will be working on the 2nd book of my Eternal Mates Series, which is a spin-off series to my shifter one. Book 2 is called Taming the Beast, I’m finally writing my 21-year-old daughters adult version of beauty and the beast with a grizzly shifter playing the beasts part. I also have another short MM romance to write for another charity anthology and a new contemporary military book the rest I’ll see where I go from there. Lots of ideas, none concrete as of yet.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

Marketing, I hate having to deal with the advertising side, I’m much rather just write.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Tea, but I do love at least 1 latte a day if I can.

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Both, crisps and chocolate

Real book or ebook? Paperback, it’s a whole experience in itself, from the feel of the book in your hands to the smell.

Cinema or DVD? I do enjoy the cinema, as I can’t be attached to a phone or laptop there, I get to immerse myself in the film.

Cat or dog? Dog, as they are like children, cats are more independent.

Weepie or action movie? Hmm, I love rom-coms, but I also love a little action and will admit to Air-con, Rambo, Commando and Marvel films being on my favourite list.


And to Finish. What is your favourite …

Food? Spinach and ricotta cannelloni.

Drink? Tea, weak and milky

Movie? A toss-up between ‘The Wedding Date’ and ‘Independence Day’

Book? Wuthering Heights.

Colour? Black, and yes, it is a colour.

Saying/Proverb? My own:- The dust will still be there tomorrow.

Song? OMG so many, I love ‘This House,’ by Alison Moyet.

Pudding/dessert? Profiteroles and lemon cheesecake are a tie.


Many thanks for chatting with me, I'm sure I'm not the only one who is wondering how the second book in your Eternal Mates series is doing!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page