top of page

Chissick Chat, part twenty-seven, with Chris Turnbull

Today, I'm chatting with one of the nicest authors I've ever had the pleasure of meeting in person. He's an absolute treasure! Please welcome to the Chissick Chat blog, my friend and fellow author, Chris Turnbull.


Hi, and welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Hi, I’m Chris Turnbull. I live just outside the city of York with my husband, and Jack Russell named Olly.


What, or who, inspires you?

When I was younger is was authors such as Roald Dahl, JK Rowling and RL Stine that excited me about books, they were a huge influence in wanting to write my own book. Now-a-days, although still inspired by them, my inspiration also comes from the many talented authors I get to meet at events. Their enthusiasm and passion fuels my own fire.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

I love reading most genres. I especially love to read true life books. In regards to fiction I tend to prefer books that are closer to reality as they can often be more relatable…although being taken off to other worlds can be fun if written well.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

I research a lot for my books, and for me I love that element of it. All my books are set in the past, and so I enjoy finding out more about the time period I’m writing. When I wrote Carousel, which is largely set in 1889 Paris, I was enthralled with all I learnt about the opening of the Eiffel tower, the world fair, and even the opening of Moulin Rogue the same year.


What are you working on at the moment?

I am just putting the finishing touches to D: Revenge Hits London – the sequel to D: Whitby’s Darkest Secret. That will be out early October. I have also been working on a special Christmas related project which will be announced in November. And my children’s book A Home For Emy is getting a sequel and will be out early 2018.


What are your future writing plans?

I have quite a list of projects up my sleeve, it’s just finding the time to write them. Currently I am enjoying writing more than ever, and I hope to be in a position to keep publishing more books in the future.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

By the time you are ready to publish you have been through the book a hundred times, and you are ready for a break from it. Unfortunately you need to keep the enthusiasm for it a little longer to promote it…but in honesty I really just want it to leave me alone for a while.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Tea

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Sweet

Real book or ebook? Real

Cinema or DVD? DVD

Cat or dog? Dog

Weepie or action movie? Both


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Italian

Drink? Cocktails

Movie? Phantom of the Opera

Book? Harry Potter

Colour? Purple

Saying/Proverb? Hope for the best, prepare for the worst

Song? It changes daily depending on my mood…but I am a huge Queen/Freddie fan

Pudding/dessert? Victoria Sponge


Thanks for chatting with me, Chris. I believe D: Revenge Hits London is now out, so I hope that's going well for you. My favourite food is Italian too, so the next time you're in my neck of the woods, call in for a slice of my Italian Apple Cake!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page