top of page

Chissick Chat, part twenty-five with Carol Walker and Jessica Fairfax **Special Announcement**

Welcome to the Chissick Chat Blog! It's my absolute honor to have Carol and Jessica chatting today, and to include a very special announcement on their behalf.


Carol Walker and Jessica Fairfax are working in collaboration and are celebrating the official launch of their anthology Big Twists Little Tales. The book contains 23 short stories and 2 poems - all of which are exactly what it says in the title, every tale has a twist.


The official launch of Big Twist Little Tales will be held at Waterstones in Newcastle from 7-9pm on 11 October. The evening will be centred around an interview by Dr Jacky Collins, Lecturer in European Fiction. Film & TV, Creator and Director of Newcastle Noir. There will be the opportunity to have your book signed by Carol Walker and Jessica Fairfax. And there will be wine.

Everyone is welcome. Tickets are available at www.waterstones.com


Big Twists Little Tales is available in paperback and for Kindle at www.Amazon.co.uk


Now, on with the questions starting with Carol ...


Hi, and welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?


Hi I’m Carol Walker. I was born and bred in Newcastle but have spent time living and working in London and Edinburgh. I initially trained as an Art Director and worked in advertising creating campaigns for clients.

Both my parents have been avid readers – they always had a book in their hands so I guess that’s where I get my love of books from.

In collaboration with Jessica Fairfax we have written an anthology containing 23 short stories and a couple of poems, Big Twists Little Tales. All the stories and poems have a twist in them which the title suggests. They are mainly dark stories, some with humour albeit dark. Essentially, there is something for everyone.

Jessica and I work together on some projects and separately on others.


What, or who, inspires you?

Mainly art, music and books.

There has been a number of people who have inspired me, it’s hard to say just one. Writing style - I love Roald Dahl, Alan Bennet.

In its day, the Flowers in the Attic series by Virginia Andrews had a profound effect.

I have always read in the crime genre. I used to devour anything by PD James and Patricia Cornwall. I love reading anything from Val McDermid and Ian Rankin, James Oswalt as well as local authors – Eileen Wharton and Danielle Ramsey. I love reading Scandi noir as they are so different. Quentin Bates is a favourite. I’m looking forward to reading Snare by Lilja Siguroarddottir which has just been translated into English by Quentin Bates. I have read a few debut authors recently such as Lucy Cameron’s, The Night is Watching, which is a really good read.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

Yes. I love psychological thrillers and crime fiction. I think you have to love what you read to write it. Writing a novel takes such a long time that you must love what you are doing.


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

As a designer, I visited places such as Loch Lomond and RSPB reserve which was fun. So far, my stories have been based locally - one is based on St Mary’s Island which is a beautiful local landmark. I feel some trips coming on soon with the ideas which are swimming around.


What are you working on at the moment?

I am working on a crime novel which has a heavy psychological undertone. I hope people get it?


What are your future writing plans?

I have plans for a series of crime novels waiting to be written and I can’t wait. I also have some strong ideas for children’s books which I would love to try developing. It appeals to the child in me.

I expect that Jessica Fairfax and I will undertake more writing together and there a few ideas milling around.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

No. I like it all.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Tea

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Savoury but that has changed recently – it used to be sweet. I’m a big fan of cheese – most cheese and for any meal.

Real book or ebook? Both. They both have their merits. I love getting a new book and have a pile waiting to be read but the ebook is so convenient.

Cinema or DVD? DVD – Movies channel. I love to snuggle down at home. Occasionally I have a trip to the cinema for a night out.

Cat or dog? Cat – I have a lovely long haired black and white cat

Weepie or action movie? I hate weepies and avoid them like the plague. I love crime and psychological thrillers so I would say ‘action’.


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Thai curry and cheese – but not together.

Drink? Gin and tonic. I can only drink Fever Tree as it’s not as fizzy as other tonics and I love the Elderflower flavour. Or red wine. As for none alcoholic I love peach iced tea which I’ve just recently discovered.

Movie? It’s a wonderful life, The Green Mile or Love Actually. I saw Trainspotting 2 recently at the flicks which I loved but I couldn’t watch the original Trainspotting. I’m so eclectic.

Book? Oo this changes regularly and can often be the last one I’ve read that makes an impact or I’m busy reading. No, sorry I can’t choose just one. For sheer indulgences – Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier which I have read a few times. Talking Heads by Alan Bennet, The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennet, In Bitter Chill by Sarah Ward, and anything by Karen Rose or Val McDermid.

Colour? Purple or blues.

Saying/Proverb? Life is short. Make it happy.

Song? Hard one – I love rock music - Stairway to Heaven by Led Zepplin but I’m a big Rolling Stones fan – Paint it black and Satisfaction. I like Bob Dylan too – I was brought up listening to him – Blowin’ in the wind. I love Ed Sheeran and The Killers – Human and Mr Brightside, and I’m so excited I have tickets to go and see them both with Jessica Fairfax.

Sorry I’m a typical Libran – my mind has changed 20 times just writing this paragraph.

Pudding/dessert? Banana split. I just had one recently for my birthday which Jessica Fairfax bought me. It was so lovely with all that creamy vanilla ice cream and monkeys blood (for none Geordies that’s raspberry topping on ice cream).


Thank you, Carol, and now onto chatting with Jessica ...


Hi, and welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?

Hi I am Jessica Fairfax and I have collaborated with Carol Walker to produce Big Twists Little Tales which is a selection of some of our darkest short stories, with a twist and a little bit of macabre humour.


What, or who, inspires you?

I like horror, paranormal and crime and a mixture of all three. I was raised on classics but I like James Herbert, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Roald Dahl and Alan Bennett to name but a few. More recently I have read Danielle Ramsay, Eileen Wharton, Val McDermid, Ian Rankin … Sarah Waters is probably one of the best authors whose work I have had the pleasure to read. So many to mention and I have a wide taste in literature.


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

I like good twists and turns so yes, a lot of the time but I do like the lighter stuff as well. I enjoy biographies and I love going back to the classics. if I want a lovely leisurely read Edith Wharton, Thomas Hardy, Jane Austen and Mary Shelley are favourites. I like the musical flow of their words. Lots of adverbs and adjectives which we are encouraged to cut out these days!


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

Not unusual, rather it was quite harrowing. When I was studying for my Psychology degree I was writing poetry a lot and as part of my research I asked to go and spend some time in a secure unit at a medical facility. Well, a poem about this transformed into the short story Forsaken in Big Twists Little Tales. I can’t go into detail as it would spoil it for the readers but it was inspired by a conversation I had with one or two of the patients there. It unnerved me and fascinated me at the same time.


What are you working on at the moment?

A Paranormal/Horror Crime novel; very dark and not quite got the balance right yet with the humour! I also have a series of children’s stories out for consideration with Agents. They are light and fluffy though. Mostly.


What are your future writing plans?

I would love to do more with Carol Walker, as we have a lot of ideas and work very well together. I would like to get my novel and short stories out there for readers to, hopefully, enjoy. I have lots of ideas and can’t get them down quick enough to be honest, so one thing at a time.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

Not finding enough hours in the day to actually write!


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Both but decaf and soya milk for me. I prefer latte to a flat white and both with cake preferably.

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Again, both in either order. Love spicy and I love cake.

Real book or ebook? Aah, real books, as I love to turn a page but sometimes ebooks are the handy option, sadly.

Cinema or DVD? Cinema – love the whole experience with snacks

Cat or dog? Both. I have always had cats and dogs but I have a puppy currently and a guinea pig.

Weepie or action movie? Depends on my mood. Both, if done well. I tend to watch a lot of action films with my 7-year old son but I do like a good cry.


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Thai food and different types of breads and cheeses

Drink? I love a good cuppa and don’t drink alcohol much these days but a Hendricks and Fever Tree light is a current favourite if I do partake.

Movie? Top of my head stuff … Terms of Endearment, The Others, I am Legend, Dead of Night, Angels with Dirty Faces, Some Like it Hot, The Children’s Hour and Seven … but I love loads of movies and it depends on my mood what I watch. Love a bit of Iron Man lately and Elvis!

Book? The House of Mirth, Ghosts of Sleath and the Amityville Horror stand out but too many books and genres to list. I love biographies and books about real events and people.

Colour? Depends whether it is clothes or furniture! – purples, greens and burnt oranges. I wear a lot of blacks and greys though!

Saying/Proverb? Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud Maya Angelou

Song? Love music full stop and my taste is eclectic but currently I listen to a lot of Coldplay and Ed Sheeran. I do like a lot of rock, pop and classical. I will say Moon River for my partner, as we walked down the aisle to that at our wedding and it always makes me cry. I found my ‘Huckleberry friend.’

Pudding/dessert? Rhubarb crumble and custard. Two helpings.


Thanks to both of you for taking part in the Chissick Chat Blog.


Don't forget, you can meet these lovely authors at Waterstones, Newcastle on the evening of October 11th, where you will be able to purchase a copy of their collaboration, Big Twists Little Tales, and get it signed too!



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page