top of page

Chissick Chat, part eleven, with Rachel Coverdale


Today, I'm saying hello to a very excited Rachel Coverdale, children’s author and all round lovely person who has recently conquered her technofear! Welcome to my blog. Please can you introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and your books?


Hi Elaine, thank you for this interview. I write children's books from toddlers to teens. I've been creating stories since I was old enough to think, most of them I told to my little brother. As an adult, children's stories still constantly form in my head so I thought it was about time I wrote them down. It was only as I began to collate them that I realised all my stories involve nature and animals. I'm beginning to realise that I'm an old hippy. This is a shock as I thought I was a young rock chick!


What, or who, inspires you?

I'm inspired by so many authors of so many different and diverse genres. I love the magic woven into The Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton, I'm inspired by the ability to maintain thrill and fear in Mr Mumbles by Barry Hutchison. Now all I have to do is capture those essences ...


Do you enjoy reading the same genre as the one you write in?

Yes, I'm someone who gets bored easily, I like life to change constantly, so I do the same with my reading. I'll read a toddler book to my grandchildren, then go home and read a murder mystery. Once I've finished that I'll read a YA, then I'll pick up a classic. Variety is the spice of life!


Has any of your research taken you to an unusual place?

Usually my research takes me straight into the countryside which I love, however I was taken to an unusual place on the internet when I researched badger baiting. Not a place I wish to return to and I was a bit worried that my search history would make me look like I was wanting to take part! It was a horrible experience because I didn't want to read what was written or see any pictures, but neither did I want to do a disservice to the wonderful men and women who protect these enigmatic creatures.


What are you working on at the moment?

I have completed my three toddler books and with your help I am definitely going to beat my techno-fear and upload them onto Amazon. My main book which is aimed at pre-teens/teens is almost finished and I'm hoping to have it published later this year or early next year.


What are your future writing plans?

I have another toddler book that is bashing on the inside of my skull, demanding to be written. Also there is a YA book that's making appearances when I try to get to sleep on a night, so I had better put pen to paper on that too.


Is there anything you don’t like about writing/being an author?

Apart from the poverty? No I don't think there is. I absolutely love seeing my ideas form into a story and find it extremely therapeutic. I really wish I'd started many years ago.


Quick Fire Questions …

Tea or coffee? Black coffee

Sweet snack or savoury snack? Sugary, sugary sweetness

Real book or ebook? Real

Cinema or DVD? DVD – I don't like to be a tearful soggy mess in public

Cat or dog? Dog

Weepie or action movie? Action


And to Finish, What is your favourite …

Food? Almost all

Drink? Fresh orange juice

Movie? Overboard

Book? Rebecca

Colour? Blue

Saying/Proverb? Live well, laugh often, love much

Song? Bohemian Rhapsody

Pudding/dessert? Lemon and meringue pie


Thanks for stopping by, Rachel. Wishing you all the luck in the world with your books.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page